Main menu

ALERT: Four gazetted public holidays over Easter 2017

With the Easter long weekend only days away, employers should note that an additional public holiday was gazetted for Easter Sunday.

In 2016, the Queensland Government introduced an amendment to the Holidays Act 1983 (Qld), which introduced an additional public holiday on Easter Sunday.  The move brings Queensland into line with its major interstate trading partners – Victoria, New South Wales and the ACT.

To be clear, the following days will be public holidays in 2017:

  • Friday 14 April 2017;
  • Saturday 15 April 2017;
  • Sunday 16 April 2017; and
  • Monday 17 April 2017.

Employers should also note the other upcoming public holidays on 25 April 2017 (ANZAC Day) and 1 May 2017 (Labour Day).

Employers should ensure they check the public holiday arrangements under any modern award that applies to their employees and comply with any public holiday penalty rate or substitute day arrangements as set out in the relevant award. Employers should also be aware of any particular arrangements that are set out in an employee’s employment contract and comply with those arrangements (whilst making sure that the employee is no worse off under those contractual arrangements than they would be under an applicable award (if any)).

Aitken Legal stands ready to assist with any enquiries that arise in relation to public holidays over the Easter break or in the future.

Aitken Legal would also like to wish its clients a safe and enjoyable Easter break with their families.

Lisa Aitken, Managing Partner